Who We Are

Our Board of Directors

The Essilor Vision Foundation Australia’s Board is made up of a team of leaders from the vision industry. Learn more about them below.

Richard Grills – Chair

Richard Grills is the previous Managing Director of Designs for Vision, a company which supplies ophthalmic and optometric products throughout Australasia. Prior to founding Designs for Vision in 1978, Richard was a clinical and dispensing optician specialising in visual handicap. He conducted low vision clinics throughout New South Wales at hospitals and ophthalmic practices.

He has been a lecturer in optics at University of New South Wales since 1974. Richard is also the chairman of the Optical Distributors and Manufacturers Association (ODMA) and a director of the Genetic Eye Foundation.

Vera Beccherini – Secretary

Vera Beccherini is the Chief Financial Officer, Australia & New Zealand at Essilor Group.

Phuong Nguyen

Duy Phuong Nguyen is the CEO of Essilor Australia and New Zealand. Mr. Nguyen is a well-known veteran of the ANZ optical industry, having worked with Essilor in various roles over the past 28 years. He has been a member of the ODMA executive committee since 1991.

Greg Johnson

Greg Johnson is the CEO of the Essilor Vision Foundation Australia/New Zealand. Greg has a long history of leadership for organisations including the Optometrists Association Australia Queensland/Northern Territory, Australian Medical Association and Australian Federation of Travel Agents.